Make up- my day to day essentials

So this is me taking my first teeny tiny baby steps towards adding a little “beauty” to my blog! I have always loved beauty and fashion blogs and have followed fabulous youtube beauty vloggers such as Lauren Luke for yonks! Over the years my day to day makeup has evolved, change and been inspired by many of the images and video’s I have seen online!

A Lauren Luke Look

makeup looks that have inspired me

I have reems of items of make up of every description that stuff “my shelf” in the bathroom cabinet, much of which I no longer use or which are doubles of items I already have. In reality I need to do a good clear out, I have already simplified down my make up bag to a few key essentials for my every day look. Since becoming a mum 10 months ago I simply no longer have the luxury of sitting for hours crossed legged in front of my dressing room mirror experimenting with new products and looks. In fact since becoming a mum I no longer have the dressing room! As “A” has claimed it as her bedroom, sigh.. how times have changed. Changed but for the better. I can now (no joke) apply a full face of make up including my signature feline eyeliner flick iv’e been rocking since approx 15 years old in about 10 mins, 5 if we are super rushed!

So I thought I would share with you my key essentials. Pre-baby my make up bag included items from YSL, MAC, smash box, benefit and No.7 , now with my new role as Stay at home mumma my beauty budget has plummeted and I have turned to the budget friendly drugstore/chemist products instead. However I am 100% converted to these honestly, you can achieve fantastic looks with minimal cost.

So here are my fave items currently:

2013-09-27 09.06.31

Collection lasting perfection ultimate wear foundation.

MUA -multi-use palette

NYC big bold mascara

Collection super size fat lash mascara

Collection extreme eyeliner pen

Solait maxi bronzer

Bronzer brush

So for my base after moisturiser I used Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate wear foundation £5.99. I use this in ivory 2, its a 16 hour wear oil free foundation and has spf 20 in it. It has great coverage and it really does last which is perfect for me as I normally apply my make up early morning at like 7am and normally don’t have a chance to touch up during the day. Also during the summer I used to get freckles on my face unless I sun creamed my face daily to within an inch of its life, but since using this foundation during the past summer I hardly got a freckle, even during the few really hot sunny weeks!

2013-09-27 09.07.12

I use two mascara’s everyday, firstly I use the Collection Super Size Fat Lash Mascara in ultra Black 17  to fan out my lashes as the brush is smaller It doesn’t give me the volume I love but it seperates the lashes well without clumps. I think its about £3.99 maybe slightly cheaper so a complete bargain.

Next I use NYC Big Bold Mascara in 853 Extra Black, this mascara claims to give up to 15 times more lash volume it has volume plumping formula enriched with collagen. It really does give your lashes a massive boost. I  wouldn’t say my lashes are 15 times the size but maybe if you layered it on it they would. Any hoo I do adore it and no clumps so that’s a plus I hate those clumped spider lashes some girls rock at the moment. Its about £4.99 I think but I got it on offer during a NYC promotion for £2.49.

If I could only use one product it would have to be Collection  Extreme 24 hour felt tip liner. I used to use the ink pot style liners until I came across these pens, these take the hassel out of dipping and tapping off excess ink an liner running out mid line. They look exactly like a felt tip and glides on smoothly. As I mentioned before I do a feline eyeliner flick everyday and have done since I was about 15 years old. Everyone knows me for it, I don’t think people would recognise me without it, I wore it even on our wedding day. (I’ll maybe do a look post at some point soon). This eyeliner is 24 hour and it really is, yes sometimes I don’t manage to take my make up off at night cue the shaking off heads from the beauty police, anyway when I wake in the morning its still intact! At £2.99 its a bargain and I always have a spare, I literally couldn’t do without it.

2013-09-27 09.06.37 The MUA mutli-use palette is my go to for eye shadow, contouring and blush. It was a gift last Christmas from my fabulous mum so i’m not sure of the price. I use the light cream shadow for a base on my lid and a tiny amount on the arch of my eyebrows to highlight. Then I use the dark brown on my lid to create a day time “smokey eye” If  I have tan on I will also use the bronzer in this palette to darken my shadow.

2013-09-27 09.06.54

To finish I use Superdrug Solait maxi bronzer in golden. I use this lightly on cheeks, nose and forehead also my neck and sometimes chest. This is great for everyday look, I have the darker colour for Nights out .. which I hardly ever use now!

I also use Maybelline New York Dream Terra Sun bronzer in 01 light. I use this if I have zero tan on and just want a light colour. Sorry iv’e no picture of this.

So this completes my day time daily look. I hope this is the start of a few more beauty posts to come on my little blog :)

Whats in your make up bag and what is the one product you couldn’t live without?

Pop over and visit me at my new blog http://www.elliebearbabi.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

