SAHM- find me again…

It’s been 1 month since i officially became a stay at home mum, as my maternity leave had ended and that fateful letter had been handed in to say cheerio i’ll not be back again! Over the last month it’s really sunk in that i’m at home, i’m a mum and my day is now 100% baby time! Even though i had a good 8 months maternity leave where i was at home its only now that i have felt the change in pace of my life.  I now schedule my life around a beautiful little girl and her eating, sleeping or lack of a times habits.

In the last few weeks iv’e really began to think about what i want to achieve for myself as well as hubs and “A” whilst at home. We are planning that I stay at home at least until she is at school and if we are lucky enough to have another little one then i’ll be at home till they are at school. So lets say roughly 6 years of 100% domestic life is stretched out in the distance in front of me. I am loving it but iv’e found myself kinda stuck at how to still do me! This is especially obvious in the clothing department. Iv’e been stuck in a boring routine of getting up throwing on what ever pieces of clothes i think vaguely go together slapping some make up on and fixing my hair though by the end of the day it can be found normally as a huge mess of bun/birds nest on top of my head.

It was after a crap week of “A” being unwell of me having a sinus infection and feeling like death and generally looking like something dragged through a hedge backwards and wearing jogging bottoms all week (hangs my head in shame) that i glanced in the mirror and thought, snap out of it you idiot! I don’t want to be a thrown together slummy mummy who looks over tired and like she doesn’t care!  I am still carrying far too much “baby weight” and no matter how many times recently iv’e tried to lose it i have never stuck at it long enough to make a real difference.

It was a photo my mum took of me hubbs and “A” at weekend that hit me like a ton of bricks.. i looked awful. I just look too heavy, I was wearing jeans and oversized cardy and scarf in an attempt to cover up as i have become so accustomed to doing lately. Well it has to stop! No more, no more jeans, no more boring clothes and no more fatness!

So I am on a mission… A mission to loose weight in a healthy way, to spruce up my hair don’t ask me how! To get some new winter wardrobe bits and pieces and start looking and hopefully feeling like the old me again!

I have always loved retro inspired pieces and i would love to have the courage to step outside of my comfort zone and add a few vintage or vintage inspired dresses into my winter wardrobe as well as accessories and boots. I of course need practicality but i want to feel a bit more jazzed up everyday..

So this weekend early sat morning hubs is going to be in charge as i take myself on a little shopping trip and source some new bits and bobs.. wish me luck, i have severe changing room phobia and have  been known to abandon shopping trips after the first attempted try on of a too tight top/trousers.. its those mirrors seriously they are not normal mirrors ;)

Also I am focusing on building my little craft biz, and expanding to include a range of different bits an pieces from baby to mummy to home. I did my first craft fair on sat and it gave me a little boost to see people face to face and gauge their reaction to my items.. wish had taken few pics but didn’t. I have a few craft fairs lined up soon which is exciting and also gives me something to work to.

one of my little creations - nursing scarf

one of my little creations – nursing scarf

Blogging – I kinda fell out of love with blogs over last 2 weeks as i felt so uninspired and unwell to be fair, as well as kept seeing parent bloggers bickering and boasting about stats and it really got me down i felt like my blogs terrible and no one pays any attention to it so sod this i’m not doing this blogging malarky no more, But alas i’m back iv’e decided to just do blogging for me to blog when i am inspired and not force it! Who cares if such an such has 1000 unique visitors a week, i’m just happy to have a blog and any lovely readers  that come along are a bonus :)  …

So onwards and upwards…. and i’ll keep you posted on my attempt to “find me again”

Pop over and visit me at my new blog http://www.elliebearbabi.co.uk/

10 thoughts on “SAHM- find me again…

  1. I know what it feels like to lose yourself in the midst of nappies and toddler groups! I’ve been a stay at home mum since 2010 and my youngest will only be in school in 2016 when he has turned 5. I started a business just to keep me busy and to stay sane – to have something I can keep track of and that can give me a sense of accomplishment. Don’t get me wrong, raising children is a massive achievement, but that is somehow lost in the eyes of society. When someone asks me what I “do” and I say I’m a SAHM, I often feel the scorn, which is a shame. Anyway, I love your scarf! I would love to feature you on my website, as a mum, as a designer and a creator. Keep it up hun! It was lovely reading this today :)

    • So lovely to have another mum understand makes me feel like im not the only one! I totally understand the scorn feeling when you tell people that your a sahm i get that all too often! I would love to feature :) thanks so much for reading and your lovely comment xx

  2. I totally relate to this. I’ve been a sahm since april and as much as I wouldn’t change it for the world I feel like I’ve forgotten about ‘me’. I’ve even slowed down on the blogging front because I don’t feel I have anything worthwhile to say! You have inspired me though so today I’m starting my blog again even if it only interests me! I’m also going clothes shopping! Time to make an effort! Xxx

    • aw so glad you can relate, i think sometimes we just need a wee reminder that its important to still be true to ourselves and not get lost under the mountain of baby clothes, food and nappies ;) tweet me ur post once youve got it up xx

Leave a Reply

